skip to Main Content

Finding Eve

Based on actual events in the author’s past, Finding Eve explores love, loss, and the importance of lifelong friendships.

Upon entering the city’s most popular carwash, three friends are whisked away through a time portal that drops them back to 1983, where they have a run in with cosmic Time Keepers, old girlfriends, and a chance to change the future by changing the past.

Together the three begin a voyage through time and space, aided by nothing more than a sense for adventure and the desire to make the universe a better place. While doing so, the three destroy all records of time, uncannily release aliens on Earth, lose Adam and Eve, discover parallel universes, and find that United States Marines never truly die. They also find that women, love, and life are not things easily attainable or manageable.

In the end, the three are able to answer some of life’s most elusive questions. Are we alone in the cosmos? How did we get here? Is there a God?


Amazon Reviews

“Totally grabbed me upon reading and didn’t put the book down until it was read.”

“Finding Eve is a fast-paced novel on time travel, with detours into space. By introducing Adam and Eve into the plot, the book also provides readers with food for thought on the theory of creation, parallel universes, and life after death.”

“I loved how the characters fumbled their way through the story, overcoming obstacles they really didn’t see coming.”


Set in the author’s childhood neighborhood, Devondale explores the secrets every neighborhood holds.

It was always there. Thirty years ago, Carter Springer left behind Devondale, a sleepy neighborhood in Lexington, Kentucky, for a big-city life in Atlanta. But he didn’t just leave behind his family—he also left behind his friends, a group the adults of the neighborhood once referred to as the Devondale Five. They were legends back then.

They ran the neighborhood. They were inseparable. Until Carter abandoned them. It never left. He’s long set aside the memories he and his friends made on those winding streets. But when Richie, another member of the Five, dies under mysterious circumstances, Carter knows he must return to Devondale and pay his respects. It’s been waiting. Richie’s death raises more than just questions for the old gang. It also raises a lot of ghosts, turning the sleepy neighborhood from Carter’s memories into a nightmare. One he might never escape from. And now that he’s back… it’s hungry.


Amazon Reviews

“Great reading, story line and characters . . . “

The Legend of Catfish Joe and Other Stories

In his first collection of stories, spanning the 1950’s to present day, Mark Spears chronicles the changing family landscape, the lasting effects of family disputes, and the onset of artificial life. Each story, set in Kentucky, offers poignant insight into the lives of those who cherish growing up in a state that is like no other. Two young boys discover the legend of Catfish Joe while fishing on the Big Sandy in Eastern Kentucky.

A young man endures a family funeral, listening to stories and family disputes that have divided them for decades. A grieving father orders an android to replace the child he lost. Margaret Ann prepares herself, and her husband, for God’s rapture. Two friends revisit the tale of Sallow Man, a mysterious figure that haunted Lexington, Kentucky for nearly eighty years.


Amazon Reviews

“It was not a bad quick read at all, very adorable especiallt for a first effort, I liked what was included in the book . . .”

“All of the stories flowed so well together. Even though each story was short, they were very well developed and you were transported into each one.”

“In this collection of short stories you will find tales ranging from comedic to creepy, and each one has its own charm and appeal. My three favorites were, The Legend of Catfish Joe, Pseudo Coterie, and The Sallow Man, but all of them were a joy to read. The cover captured the tone of the book perfectly, and the stories worked very well together as a collection!”

Back To Top